top of page

Body Positive Challenge Feature Profile August 10, 2015


"I think beauty is strength. I think beauty is discipline. I think beauty is the journey to finding ourselves. I see beauty in women and men being honest and raw. I see beauty everyday in my box (crossfit gym) when someone goes a little farther than they thought they could go. They lift a little heavier than they thought they could lift. They accomplish more than they thought they could ever do. I see beauty everywhere around me. I find inspiration from these people. But when do I feel beautiful? I started feeling beautiful when I learned what I am capable of. For me, crossfit helped me find this. I started lifting weights and doing things that were so HARD. These WOD's (workout of the day) not only left me physically tired but mentally tired. I started doing things that I thought I would NEVER do, but I was DOING them. Eventually, when hard times came I saw it like a WOD. If I could survive those workouts I could surely get through whatever was laid before me. 3-2-1 GO I got this! I feel beautiful doing what seems to be the impossible. I felt beautiful doing WOD's thru 9 months of pregnancy, and I felt beautiful when I delivered the most beautiful baby boy. I feel beautiful when my son watches me doing burpees, box jumps, pull ups and wall balls. I feel beautiful when my son is watching me do a workout and I am so tired and drenched in sweat and want to quit but I don't. I finish. I feel beautiful when my son is in the stroller and we go for a run. I feel beautiful when my son is watching beauty. He lives in that box just as much as I do and he gets to grow up watching the beauty that is the human spirit. People come in and are broken. They don't know where to go, but know something has to give, just like I was. And they start lifting the barbell, doing sit-ups, running, rowing... They find themselves somewhere in that last set of wall balls. They start realizing that they are so much more than just a body. They are a machine. They are capable. They are strong. They are disciplined. They are happy. And that is beautiful." -Lindsey C.


Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page