top of page

Why I Talk


Sometimes when people read my story and hear that I stand up and share the experiences I’ve gone through, they look at me like I’ve lost my marbles. “Why would you do that?” is a question I’ve gotten more than once. Well, here’s how I answer:

Talking about my own eating disorder struggles is definitely not the easiest thing. This subject is supposed to be “embarrassing”, “shameful”, and we should hide it away. It causes some amount of anxiety and vulnerability to post for the world to see. However, I feel strongly that each and every one of us face and conquer challenges. If we cannot share our experiences and our victories, or even bond with others who are going through the same struggles, our trials are lost like ashes in the wind. Our fight for wholeness and recovery are wasted if we can’t open our mouths, stretch out our arms to the next person, and share our learned strengths. We’ll never know that the friend, family member, co-worker standing right next to us is battling the same demon if we keep our mouth closed in shame of exposing ourselves. If we can share our experiences with each other, we can help strengthen that universal human bond. We’re all in this life together…why not walk together…why not talk together? So here I go…talking!

I’m talking for all my sisters, my brothers who fight this lonely, ugly, lethal battle of ED. I’m talking to share my story and to show first hand that recovery is possible! I’m talking to unite us all. I’m talking to hear YOUR story, your sister’s story, your brother’s story, your niece’s story, your daughter’s story. I’m talking to, I pray, lift just one person higher than they were yesterday.

I talk to help reduce the stigma that our society has placed around Eating Disorders and other mental health illnesses. Take this example: If someone were to announce to a room that they have cancer or diabetes, what would happen? The entire room would open their arms to that individual, say how sorry they are, and ask how they can help. Which, by the way, is awesome! Because we’re here to help each other! However, if another person entered that room and announced (probably in a very quiet and embarrassed voice) that they had an eating disorder, depression or bipolar disorder and needed help…what would happen? Chances are, the room would feel uncomfortable, people wouldn’t know what to do, initial thoughts in peoples’ heads would be, “Oh gosh…crazy!” Now, this may be a slight exaggeration, but do you get the picture. Now why is it like this? If you have diabetes or cancer, there is a chemical imbalance in your body…something is not behaving correctly and needs adjustment. If you have a mental health illness, there is a chemical imbalance in your brain…something is not behaving correctly and needs adjustment. There is no difference! Let’s change this!

I believe that when we can freely talk, we can begin to heal.

This is why I talk!

Let’s change the world together!


Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page