top of page

Fight For Your Dreams


The beginning of an eating disorder can look so enticing, so full of promises of beauty, popularity, and happiness. However, the reality is just the opposite. Eating Disorders lead to isolation from others, body hatred, obsessivenss, and horrible sadness and anger. Eating Disorders are a trap...there's no other way to say it.

We all have hopes and dreams growing up and into our teenage years...what we want to be, getting married and having a family, etc. Eating disorders can be the end of those dreams. When an eating disorder consumes our entire life, there isn't much room for anything else, including dreams.

But there is HOPE! Recovery is possible! I am a living example. I have always wanted to be a Doctor of Forensic Psychology. When I was diagnosed with an eating disorder at the age of 19, my whole world was turned upside down. I had been a straight A student in high school. But after graduation, I was so sick, I had to take two years off from my education. Well, I still wanted to achieve that dream so badly. I first enrolled in our local community college with one class at a time, terribly nervous that I would be so overwhelmed and would fail. I did succeed and it built my confidence. After that I tried two classes and did just fine. It took me 4 years to get my 2 year degree, but it was the proudest day of my life! I was on my way!!!

The next fall I enrolled in a Bachelor degree program at Washington State University branch campus that was close to home, as I was still working through therapy and needed the support of my family. I did much better this time. Two years later I walked down the red carpet, beaming, with my Bachelor's degree in hand!

I was then accepted to the Master's program at the same Washington State University branch campus. I had to take a medical leave off for a year in the middle of it. So while my cohort and friends graduated in 3 years, it took me 4...but I did it!

I was getting stronger and stronger. And my eating disorder symptoms were more under control. I could handle the stress of school and I was working towards my dream!

I am proud to say that I am now in the second year of my Doctoral Program. It makes me cry just to write this!

My point is, don't ever give up on your dreams, no matter your struggles or diagnosis. Find a way to make it happen. "Be fearless in the pursuit of what set your soul on fire." You are so much more than your diagnosis. Fight for those dreams!!!


Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page